Starting October 1st, 2018, all applicants are required to submit their fingerprints to the Board before licensure. Click here for more information



A law passed by the 83rd Legislature authorizes the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners to license and regulate veterinary technicians. This law became effective on September 1, 2014. After this date, an individual may not use the term 'LVT' or refer to themselves as a 'Licensed Veterinary Technician' without a license. A license to work as a veterinary technician is not mandatory, but it is an option available to you.

571.4 Qualifications for Licensed Veterinary Technician License sets out the eligibility requirements to obtain a veterinary technician license



Before You Apply for a License


  • Applicants must take and pass the VTNE prior to being eligible to take the State Board Exam.
  • Applicants must have graduated from an AVMA accredited Veterinary Technician program.


How to Apply for a License


Step 1: APPLY ONLINE Start the application process for your license online at any time, gathering the required documents and getting your fingerprints done at IdentoGo.

Apply by clicking here: SELF-SERVICE LICENSING PORTAL LINK to create an account, register and begin the application for licensure. Complete the online application and upload, or request your issuing entity to send to us, ALL of the required supporting documentation requested in the application.

Step 2: TAKE THE EXAM Once we have determined that your application is complete, you will be emailed instructions on how to schedule and take your State Board Exam (SBE), including your needed Applicant ID. You may take the exam online, at a time and place of your choosing, once you are cleared to take it. Your license will be issued within 7 business days after we receive your passing score. Applicants that require ADA accommodations for the test, click here for the request form.

Applicants must pass the State Board Exam (SBE) prior to becoming licensed in Texas. The SBE includes jurisprudence questions related to the Veterinary Licensing Act (laws), Licensing Rules (Chapter 571) and Rules of Professional Conduct (Chapter 573).

Step 3: GET LICENSED After all of the above is finished, we will issue you a license number and an Authority to Practice Letter which you will use to practice until your wall license can be printed and mailed to you. Once received, please frame and hang your wall license in plain sight of the public in your workplace to be in compliance.
If you have any questions regarding exams, applications, or licensing please contact the Licensing Department at 512-305-7555, or email

LVT Continuing Education (CE) Policy

LVTs are required to obtain 10 hours of CE annually. CE earned before you receive your license will not count towards your renewal requirement. It is your responsibility to make sure the continuing education you take is acceptable. See the Continuing Education page for more information.


If you have any questions regarding exams, applications, or licensing please contact the Licensing Department at 512-305-7555 or email


Records note: You must keep hard copies or electronic copies of your certificates for 4 years, as you will be required to produce them in case of an audit. Failure to meet the continuing education requirement is grounds for disciplinary actionSee Rule 573.66. 


Helpful Links:

Chapter 571 Licensing

Chapter 573 Rules of Professional Conduct

Chapter 575 Practice and Procedure

Chapter 577 General Administration and Duties

Continuing Education Page